The 2016 KBS Drama Awards, held on December 31st, 2016, just concluded in Seoul. The glittery night saw many celebrities grace the occasion. Every year Korean Broadcasting System (KBS) recognizes outstanding achievements in Korean dramas aired on its network. KBS Drama Awards recognizes talent in the form of a number of awards – Top Excellence in Acting Award, Best Supporting Actor, Best Writer, Special Award, Achievement Award to name a few. But the highest honor of the ceremony is the Grand Prize, awarded to the best actor or actress of the year.


Song Joong-ki and Song Hye kyo Win Grand Prize And Best Couple Award

The Descendants of the Sun stars Song Joong-ki and Song Hye Kyo won the Grand Prize at the 2016 KBS Drama Awards. The duo also won the Best Couple Award. Song Joong-ki acknowledged the help of Jin Goo and also thanked his parents and fans. In his acceptance speech, the Descendants of the Sun star said – “Usually, the woman should cry, but we’re reversed. I want to give her all this honor to my lovely partner, Song Hye Kyo.”

Song Hye Kyo, in her acceptance speech, said that she missed the staff of Descendants of the Sun and admitted that when she got the offer, she wasn’t sure if she wanted to actually perform the role. Looks like she took the right decision. In her acceptance speech, she also acknowledged the Alpha team, Jin Goo, her mother and her fans. Song Hye Kyo thanked Song Joong-ki and said – “But, the only reason why I am able to get this award is because of Song Joong Ki. I wouldn’t be here without him.”

List of All Winners

Here’s the list of all winners of 2016 KBS Drama Awards –

Grand Prize (Daesang) – Song Joong-ki and Song Hye Kyo (DOTS)

Best Actor – Park Shin Yang (Lawyer) and Park Bo Gum (Moonlight Drawn by Clouds)
Best Actress – Kim Ha Neul (On the Way to the Airport)

Best Couple Award – Lee Sang Yoon and Kim Ha Neul (Airport), Oh Ji Ho and Heo Jung Eun (Oh My Geumbi) and Song Joong Ki and Song Hye Kyo (DOTS)

Best Actor in Mini-Series – Lee Sang Yoon (On the Way to the Airport)
Best Actress in Mini-Series – Kim Ji Won (DOTS)

Best Supporting Actress – Ra Mi Ra
Best Actor in Short Drama Awards – Kim Seung Ho and Lee Dong Hwi
Best Actor in Short Drama (Female) – Kang Yeo Won & Jo Yeo Jung

Netizen Award – Park Bo Gum
Writers Award – Kim Eun Sook and Kim Won Suk (Descendants of the Sun)
Best New Actor Award – Sung Hoon (Five Children) and Jinyoung (Moonlight Drawn by Clouds)
Best New Actress Award – Kim Ji Won (DOTS) and Lee Sae Young (Laurel Tree Tailors)

Best Actor in Serial Drama – Ahn Jae Wook (Five Children) and Lee Dong Gun (Laurel Tree Tailors)
Best Actress in Serial Drama – So Yoo Jin (Five Children) and Jo Yoon Hee (Laurel Tree Tailors)
Best Actor in Daily Drama Awards – Oh Min Suk
Best Actress in Daily Drama Award – Lee Yoo Ri (Heaven’s Promise) and So Yi Hyun (A Woman’s Secret)

Best Actor in Mid-Length Drama – Song Il Gook (Jang Youngsil)
Best Actress in Mid-Length Drama – Kim Yoo Jung (Moonlight Drawn by Clouds)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.