SHARE

Adobe’s Creative Cloud is an umbrella that is meant for the cloud version of Adobe ADBE 2.31% apps like Lightroom and Photoshop and is a subscription-based service. It offers desktop app to users so that they can manage the data stored in the cloud provided by Adobe.

A logo sign at the headquarters of software maker Adobe Systems in San Jose, California, on December 31, 2014. Photo Credit: Kristoffer Tripplaar/ Sipa USA
A logo sign at the headquarters of software maker Adobe Systems in San Jose, California, on December 31, 2014. Photo Credit: Kristoffer Tripplaar/ Sipa USA

Just last Thursday Adobe pushed out an update for its Creative Cloud desktop app or Mac for users who had the “auto-update” option turned on. A lot of those users, including the one who manually downloaded the Mac app for the service at that time, lost a lot of files. The update deleted the files of some users “accidentally”.

Adobe pulled down the update after a day, that’s on Friday, after the problem was identified by cloud storage outfit Backblaze. According to Backblaze:

…files from folders within your root directory could have been removed. We typically saw this occur to the user’s top-most (when alphabetically sorted) hidden folder, or to a folder that had a space at the front of its name (a semi-common practice to force a folder to always appear at the top of the list).

A new version of the desktop was pushed out by Adobe on Sunday and carried a version number 3.5.1.209. Meanwhile, the customer care team of the company was busy apologizing to its users over social media sites.

Did you experience the same problem? Let us know in the comments below.

SHARE